The lives of the Lums in 2013 AKA – “The Christmas Newsletter”

χρονια πολλα. Maligayang Pasko. ¡Feliz Navidad! Merry Christmas & so on and forth.

My Mom asked me to write out one of those Christmas newsletters for the family, so here you go Mum!

Although I was not with them for most of 2013, I know that there has indeed been much activity for the Lum’s this year with many weddings, a birth and visits here and there.

My oldest sister, Rosely got married in July. I flew in from Hungary and 18 or so relatives flew in from across the country and stayed in my parent’s home for the event. You can imagine that many Filipinos living in one household. That certainly makes for a loud time with plenty of food! So not only did we have a wedding celebration, but also a family reunion.

ImageImage

Image

My Uncle also got married in Stockton,

Image
Uncle Chester & Aunt Fredrica (June)

As well as my cousin Jordan in Ojai, California,

Image
Jordan & Allie (October)

& my cousin Lovely in Maine,

Image

ImageImage

All wedding celebrations aside, my family has had much to keep busy with. Dad and Mom have been serving at church and working. Also, Mom has taken to doing 5k runs with her friends, like the Santa Run and the Color Run as well as a run for Leukemia.

Image
Dad & Mom

Meanwhile, they both enjoy being grandparents. Very much.

Image

Jeff and Rose live in Southern California, both staying busy with work. Rosely found a job with a school district as a BMT (Behavioral Management Therapist), working with elementary aged students with autism.

Image
The Thompsons – Jeffrey & Rosely

Chris has been the youth pastor at my home church and Kim has recently returned to substitute teaching.

Image
The Hochs: Chris, Kim and their children Brayden (2) and Atienza (7 months).

April 30th marked the birth of my niece, Atienza! I took this picture in July, so she would have been like, 2 and a half months here.

Image

As for me. Well, in 2013 I finished off the Internship Program at Calvary Chapel Bible College Europe. I got to serve alongside a bunch of wonderful people. It is safe to say I have become very fond of them. 

Image
The Interns. A very serious bunch, we are not the comical type.
Image
Some of my favorite ladies. ❤

Then, in October I found myself in Paphos, Cyprus to minister with the Calvary Chapel here! From where I write this Christmas newsletter thing.

ImageImageImageImage

Well folks, that was 2013 in a nutshell (rather, a blog post)! It is easy to say that it has been quite the eventful year. We have indeed been very blessed. “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” (James 1:17)

Cheers to a New Year and everything that will come our way, but FIRST…

Image

A very Merry Christmas, from my family to yours.

3 thoughts on “The lives of the Lums in 2013 AKA – “The Christmas Newsletter”

  1. Thanks for another great Christmas letter you’ve created. We all miss you here in the Christmas season but we also know that God’s plan for is greater than what we want you to be at this time.

Leave a Reply

