Introducing: More Than Nomads

Hi all, greetings from Paphos, Cyprus, where I am for another 3 months! I returned from Hungary (where I spent the last 3 months) almost a week and a half ago and the days have already been quite full. I would not have it any other way. It is lovely to be back here, reacquainting with faces and places while learning more about the warm, accepting culture. This, week we have an outreach team coming in from CCBCE in Vajta, Hungary. They are a group of 9 and we are all collectively excited and expectant for God to move in and through the whole lot of us.

Since, the last time I wrote, God has been showing me a lot about more about His calling. Especially how specifically He seems to design these callings per individual. Coming to accept the whole “3 months in, 3 months out” way about doing ministry in Cyprus helped me get to that place, spiritually.

“3 months in, 3 months out” means that I am not permanent by any means. I can stay in Cyprus for 3 months, ministering, serving amongst the people here. After those 3 months are up, I must be somewhere else, and stay out of the country for 3 months before I can come back. This means that I get to go and make disciples in multiple nations!  Living this way is not something I would have orchestrated by my own process of thought. However, as the pieces started to come together, the reality of who I am and how I am showed me that it all just made so much sense. Sometimes, faith makes so much sense. God designed this for me. Basically, I am a nomad…but more.

Here is a little piece from Hebrews 11, a chapter full of other like-minded folk:

These all died in faith, not having received the promises, but having seen them afar off were assured of them, embraced them and confessed that they were strangers and pilgrims on the earth. For those who say such things declare plainly that they seek a homeland. And truly if they had called to mind that country from which they had come out, they would have had opportunity to return.But now they desire a better, that is, a heavenly country. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for He has prepared a city for them. (Hebrews 11:13-16)

These lead me to introduce my kick start project that I am hoping to implement in my blog: More Than Nomads

The desire is to share God stories of other missionaries. How they are called, led, provided for, used and so on and so forth.

We live a life of the most bittersweet farewells and the warmest hellos. There are times when life is surreal and times when life gets SO real.

The “where” is sometimes only a manifestation of latitude and longitude. Who you are and what you do is quite important. That is what goes with you. The most important is Who goes with you.

While Jesus walked on earth He went to and fro, but His heart was always connected to His Father’s. Who does His great example lead you to be? What is it that will remain with you when you go wherever you go? May it simply be your relationship with the one true God and may your eyes be set on Jesus, the perfect example of just how to be, the author and the finisher of your faith.

Friends, the call is simple: GO AND MAKE DISCIPLES OF ALL NATIONS.

This is what we are living for. Sure, it involves much adventure; the nomadic way of life becomes the normal (although, is it ever really “normal”?) for those who pick up their cross. Oh, but how sweet it is to be more than nomads.

Stay tuned to read more. Thanks for remembering me in your prayers and support. Pray for Paphos. Pray for missionaries everywhere, that the love of God would be shown and known.

Leave a Reply

