Much ado about learning and equipping

Words have evidently failed me these past couple of months as I have failed to keep up with writing. Meanwhile, much learning has been taking place amidst the business of mind and body day in and day out.

Last time I wrote, I had plans of staying in Vajta, Hungary for a few weeks and heading off to Germany to come alongside a church there for a time. A change of plans occurred not long after returning to the village that I have come to grow so fond of. God made it obvious to me that the most obedient thing I could do was to remain at the conference center and be a part of the conference center staff for the rest of the summer. So I stayed.

Whirlwinds turned into fires which turned into fiery whirlwinds. These fiery whirlwinds were manifested in finding my footing in new positions and taking on everything that entails whilst seeking wisdom in interpersonal knots and the every day highs and lows.

Although not all spiritual seasons can be defined in certain ways, there is a certain type of season that can very appropriately be referred to as a whirlwind. A whirlwind catches any fragile thing that gets in the way. A whirlwind is a strong force, no massive amount of willpower can stand against it. The strongest man alive is no match for the whirlwind.

These few words from Nahum 1:3 offer a bit of perspective for the pilgrim tossed about by the force of the wind, The Lord has His way in the whirlwind and in the storm”. Alas, there is rest for your soul.

Enter, fire.

Fire is not estranged from heat nor light. Fire destroys that which is weak and strengthens that substance for which strength was intended. You and I are no strangers to fire. It burns down forests, it keeps your toes warm on a chilly, starry night. A figurative fire is the passion in your heart – it makes your eyes wide and keeps your mind set. The fire I write of is the refining fire.

Refining removes impurities and superfluous substance. Simply put, a refining fire gets rid of the ugliness. You recognize when you are in it, whether you were prepared for it or not.

If you are currently in a fire of sorts as you peruse my ramblings, do take heart because there is rest for you. These are, “so that the proof of your faith, being more precious than gold which is perishable, even though tested by fire, may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ” (1 Peter 1:7).

Whether the whirlwind is inside of you or the whirlwind tosses the earth around you. When the fire refines you from the inside out. Indeed, there is rest for your soul.

This rest is made real as I train my eyes to stay on the author and the finisher of my faith. The breastplate of righteousness and the shield of faith keep safe the truth of who I am – behind which no flame can reach. I do indeed press on, and so may you, knowing that anything endured for the sake of seeking God serves great preparation in the great scheme of things.

Seasons changed and Summer turned to Fall, and here we are again at Calvary Chapel Bible College Europe. Currently I am finishing off the last two classes for my Bachelor Degree whilst working on staff in the Bible College Office, helping out the registrar/filling in whatever gaps I can. In a familiar place, with some new faces and a calling to call my own. A mess of a girl with a firm grasp of her own inability and more importantly her God’s absolute ability to do all things.

Until next time, but hopefully sooner than later.

For the LORD God is a sun and shield: the LORD will give grace and glory: no good thing will he withhold from them that walk uprightly. – Psalm 84:11

Leave a Reply

